Dr. Aleš Rotar

Member of the Management Board and Director of Pharmaceutical R&D and Production


Aleš Rotar was born in 1960 in Zadar, Croatia. He graduated in pharmacy from the Ljubljana Faculty of Natural Sciences and Engineering in 1984, and earned a master’s degree seven years later. In 1993, he finished the international business programme and got his MBA from IEDC, Brdo. He earned his doctorate from the Faculty of Pharmacy in 2000.

He started working at Krka in the Stability Department in 1984. In 1991, he became Head of Pharmaceutical Technology and two years later Head of Pharmaceutical Development within Research and Development. In 1998, he was appointed Deputy Director and in 1999, Director of Research and Development.

He was appointed to the Management Board in 2001. He began his second term on 31 July 2002 and was reappointed for the period from 31 July 2007 to 31 December 2009. Rotar has been Director of Research and Development since 2002. At its meeting on 29 July 2009, the Supervisory Board reappointed him to the Management Board for a further six-year term of office, starting on 1 January 2010. Aleš Rotar has contributed significantly to the know-how and establishment of business functions relating to research and development at Krka. Because of his successful performance and following a proposal by Colarič, in November 2015 the Supervisory Board unanimously appointed him to the Management Board for a new term of office from 2016 to 2021. Within that term, he successfully united development and production processes into Pharmaceutical R&D and Production, one of Krka’s largest organisational units. The synergy between experts from R&D and Production helped improve the transfer of technologies and the management of product life cycles which, among others, resulted in higher production output. During his terms of office, Krka almost doubled the number of product launches.

Following the 2021 proposal by Colarič, the Supervisory Board unanimously appointed him a member of the Management Board for another six-year term of office commencing on 1 January 2022.